Areva forms advisory committee
Areva Med has formed an advisory committee comprised of five high-level scientists who will provide the firm with strategic advice and scientific guidance in the field of radio-immunotherapy using its lead-212 isotope.

The members of the AREVA Med advisory committee based in Bethesda, Md are:
  • Darrell R. Fisher, PhD, medical physicist and lead for the isotope sciences program at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory in Richland, Wash.;
  • Olivier Rixe, MD, PhD, director of the experimental therapeutics program at the University of Cincinnati in Cincinnati;
  • Brenda M. Sandmaier, MD, medical oncologist at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and the University of Washington in Seattle;
  • George Sgouros, PhD, director of the radiopharmaceutical dosimetry section, Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore; and
  • Christine A. White, MD, medical oncologist and hematologist, who held several senior positions in the clinical development of the first radioimmunotherapy approved in the U.S. and Europe.

Areva had earlier signed a research agreement with the University of Cincinnati to provide the medical-grade isotope lead-212 to the university to conduct research on alpha radioimmunotherapy using this isotope to treat prostate cancer.