ASRT announces 2010 radiologic science advocacy award winners
The American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Board of Directors has named Rep. John Barrow, D-Ga. and Sen. Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich. as this year’s recipients of the ASRT Award for Excellence in Radiologic Science Advocacy.

Barrow is a member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee and was the lead sponsor of the Consistency, Accuracy, Responsibility and Excellence in Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy (CARE) bill in the 111th Congress, according to the Albuquerque, N.M.-based society.

A long-time supporter of medical imaging and radiation therapy standards, Stabenow co-sponsored the original CARE bill in 2000 and also cosponsored the CARE bill during the 110th Congress.  She is currently working on a number of initiatives to improve the health care system in America, including supporting the use of electronic medical records, increasing educational opportunities for future health care workers and expanding preventive medicine and wellness programs, said the ASRT.

Barrow and Stabenow will receive their awards on March 9 during the ASRT’s 12th annual R.T. in D.C. advocacy event in Washington, D.C.