HIMSS announces winners of IT leadership awards
The Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) announced the winners of its annual leadership awards: Carol Bickford, PhD, RN; Kathleen Smith, MS, RN; and Russell Leftwich, MD.

Bickford and Smith were each awarded the 2012 Nursing Informatics Leadership Award, and Leftwich was awarded the 2012 Physician IT Leadership Award.
Bickford and Smith were selected for the efforts to develop and sustain the Weekend Immersion in Nursing Informatics continuing education program, and for promoting HIMSS on local, state and national levels. Leftwich was selected for his involvement in the HIMSS Tennessee chapter and for his efforts to promote health IT adoption among other providers.