SNM honors outstanding contributors
SNM has recognized the contributions work to the field of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging during its 57th annual meeting in Salt Lake City.

SNM Presidential Distinguished Service Award:
This year's recipients of the SNM presidential distinguished service award, are Henry VanBrocklin, PhD, and Wil B. Nelp, MD. VanBrocklin is currently director of radiopharmaceutical research and professor of radiology and biomedical imaging at the University of California, San Francisco and Nelp is professor emeritus at the University of Washington in Seattle, and practices nuclear medicine part time.

SNM Presidential Distinguished Educator Award:
George Segall, MD, chief of nuclear medicine service at the Department of Veterans' Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System in Palo Alto, Calif., and professor of radiology at Stanford University in Stanford, Calif., was selected for the SNM Presidential Distinguished Educator Award for his sustained contributions to education throughout his professional career.

SNM 2010 Honorary Member:
SNM selected Henry Wagner Jr., MD, as an honorary member of the society. A member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, he is an honorary member of both the British Institute of Radiology and the Radiological Society of North America.

Henry N. Wagner Jr. Lectureship:
Larry Kessler, ScD, professor and chair of the Department of Health Services at the University of Washington, School of Public Health in Seattle, delivered the Henry N. Wagner, Jr. Lectureship. His speech,"Strange bedfellows? Comparative effectiveness research, molecular imaging medical practice, and health policy," discussed the pitfalls and promise of evidence-based medicine with respect to molecular imaging and how the health policy and decision-making landscape may change.

Hal Anger Memorial Lecture:
Thomas Budinger, MD, PhD, delivered the Hal Anger Memorial Lecture, sponsored by the SNM Academic Council. His speech, "Radionuclide enhancements above and beyond signal to noise: losing the background," demonstrated how advances in imaging detectors, collimators, gantry design, and time of flight and reconstruction algorithms can significantly improve the quality of nuclear medicine imaging. Budinger is currently professor of the graduate school, University of California, Berkeley and senior medical scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, Calif.

Kuhl-Lassen Lecture Award:
Kirk Frey, MD, PhD, accepted the Kuhl-Lassen Lecture Award for research in brain imaging. His lecture, "The vesicular neurotransmitter transporters," described the pharmacology and biodistribution of vesicular neurotransmitter transporters. Frey currently serves as professor in the radiology department, division of nuclear medicine and the department of neurology, and director of the PET Center at the University of Michigan Hospitals.

Hermann Blumgart Award:
Rory Hachamovitch, MD, a staff cardiologist at the Cleveland Clinic, was selected by SNM's cardiovascular council to receive the Hermann Blumgart Award.

Edward J. Hoffman Memorial Award:
Grant T. Gullberg, PhD, a senior staff scientist at E. O. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, Calif., and an adjunct professor of radiology at the University of California San Francisco, is this year's recipient of the Edward J. Hoffman Memorial Award.

Berson-Yalow Award:
Shawn M. Hillier, PhD, received the Berson-Yalow Award. Hillier is a principal scientist at Molecular Insight Pharmaceuticals in Cambridge, Mass.

Robert Lull Memorial Lectureship:
N. Reed Dunnick, MD, and Henry D. Royal, MD, delivered the Robert Lull Memorial Lectureship. Royal is a professor of radiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Mo., and the associate director of nuclear medicine at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology in St. Louis, Mo.

Loevinger-Berman Award:
Amin I. Kassis, PhD, received the Loevinger-Berman Award. Kassis is a professor in the department of radiology at Harvard Medical School in Boston and director of the radiation biology and experimental radionuclide therapy sections at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston.

Tom Miller Memorial Award:
The Tom Miller Memorial Award was presented to Missy Fleming, PhD, and Darlene F. Metter, MD. Fleming is the executive director of the review committees for diagnostic radiology, nuclear medicine, and obstetrics and gynecology at Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. Darlene Metter, MD,is a professor of radiology, vice-chair of clinical education for the department of radiology at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio, Texas (UTHSCSA), and the nuclear medicine program director for the U.S. Army, Air Force and UTHSCSA.

Michael J. Welch Award:
Mark M. Goodman, PhD, a professor of radiology at Emory University in Atlanta, received the Michael J. Welch Award to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to radiopharmaceutical sciences.