AACR names new leadership for 2010
The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) installed a new president, president-elect and treasurer during its 101st annual meeting this week in Washington, D.C.

According to the AACR, the elected officials are:
  • New President: Elizabeth H. Blackburn, PhD, who is a 2009 Nobel Laureate and is the Morris Herzstein professor of biology and physiology in the department of biochemistry and biophysics at the University of California, San Francisco. Blackburn served on the AACR Board of Directors (2006 to 2009) and is a current member of the executive committee, as well as serving as chair of several scientific award selection committees.
  • Past President: Tyler Jacks, PhD, is the director of the David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research and the Koch professor of biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, Mass., as well as a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator. He served on the board of directors (2001 to 2004), the Nominating Committee and the Annual Meeting Program Committee and was chairperson of several AACR special conferences.
  • President-Elect: Judy E. Garber, MD, is the director of the Cancer Risk and Prevention Program at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, associate professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and associate physician of medicine and attending physician of medical service at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston. She was a member of the board of directors (2007 to 2010) and is currently a member of several committees.
  • Treasurer: William N. Hait, MD, PhD, is the senior vice president and global therapeutic area head of oncology of Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceuticals Research & Development. He served as president of the AACR from 2007 to 2008 and launched the AACR’s Translational Cancer Medicine meeting series, as well as chairing and  co-chairing numerous committees and conferences. Hait succeeds Bayard D. Clarkson, MD, past president (1980-1981), who served as treasurer since 1994.