ASRT announces 2010 radiation therapy scholarships
The American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Education and Research Foundation and Palo Alto, Calif.-based Varian Medical Systems have announced the 19 entry-level radiation therapy program students selected to receive $5,000 scholarships.

  The 2010 Varian Radiation Therapy Student Scholarship recipients include:
  • Kathleen E. Blankenship of Colonial Heights, Va., Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Alisen S. Fitzpatrick of Sun Prairie, Wis., University of Wisconsin at La Crosse
  • Alicia M. Walters of Bellevue, Wash., Bellevue College
  • Mindy R. Opelt of Neillsville, Wis., University of Wisconsin at La Crosse
  • Eyob M. Lemma of Richmond, Va., Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Jackie Chandonnet of Eagan, Minn., Argosy University
  • Luke A. Barhorst of Columbus, Ohio, Ohio State University
  • Tina M. VanSuch of Columbus, Ohio, Ohio State University
  • Courtney D. Silsby of Wichita, Kan., Washburn University
  • Kailey W. McKinley of San Marcos, Texas, Texas State University at San Marcos
  • Alexander C. Macha of Wallis, Texas, Texas State University
  • Jecenia Moronta of New York City, Sloan-Kettering School of Radiation Therapy
  • Lisa A. Jager of Hopkins, Mich., Baker College
  • Sareh Sabripour of Savannah, Ga., Armstrong Atlantic State University
  • Kimberly L. Bittle of Oklahoma City, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
  • Heather Rene Vickery of Richmond, Va., Allied Health Professions
  • Matthew Jay Cohen of Galveston, Texas, Galveston College.
  • Genita A. Myles of Detroit, Baker College
  • Michele R. Piercy of Indianapolis, Indiana University Purdue University

Eligible students must be currently enrolled in an accredited entry-level radiation therapy program and have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale or at least a B average in radiation therapy core curriculum, stated the ASRT. Eligibility requirements and application deadlines for the scholarship program can be found at