Siemens executives appointed to industry groups
Siemens Medical Solutions announced that several of the company’s executives have been selected for positions and appointments in healthcare industry organizations, such as the Certification Commission for Healthcare Information Technology (CCHIT), the Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise (IHE), the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS), the American Health Information Community (AHIC), the International Health Terminology Standards Development Organization (IHTSDO), the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA), and the Healthcare Information Technology Standards Panel (HITSP).

Gail Latimer, vice president, chief nursing officer, was reappointed as a member of the CCHIT Inpatient Electronic Health Record (EHR) Work Group. The group is responsible for refining and finalizing the criteria surrounding inpatient EHR functionality.

Donald Bechtel, chief privacy officer, Healthcare Data Exchange, a service of the Malvern, Pa.-based Siemens, was selected to participate in the CCHIT Privacy and Compliance Expert Panel. The panel advises and supports a variety of work groups in the development of the criteria surrounding privacy and compliance requirements governing the use of EHR products.

David Tao, DSc, senior key expert of Soarian Enterprise Systems, was appointed as co-chair of the CCHIT EHR Foundation Work Group. In this role, Tao will lead discussions and initiatives related to universal EHR requirements applicable to all care settings, including ambulatory, inpatient and emergency department systems. He was also selected as a member of the CCHIT Interoperability Expert Panel which enables standards-based data exchange among EHRs, in all care settings, and between EHRs and other systems.

Eric Ringle, product manager, was appointed as a member of the CCHIT Emergency Department EHR Work Group. In this role, he will assist with refining and finalizing the criteria surrounding core emergency department EHR functionality.

Dr. Floyd Eisenberg, senior physician consultant, clinical informatics, was elected as co-chairperson of the IHE Quality Domain Technical Committee. This committee focuses on infrastructure necessary to share information relevant to quality improvement in electronic patient care and healthcare records. In addition, Eisenberg was named to the HITSP National Quality Forum Expert Panel on identifying core data elements for electronic healthcare information systems.

Glen Marshall, standards and regulations manager, was elected as co-chairperson for the HITSP Security and Privacy Technical Committee. This committee is responsible for the selection of standards to protect patient privacy and healthcare information and system security in the U.S.

Terry Jacobs, director, electronic health records and emerging initiatives, was appointed as a steering committee member to the HIMSS Enterprise Information Systems Steering Committee.

Charlene Underwood, director, government and industry affairs, is currently serving as a member on the AHIC Quality Workgroup and Quality Expert Panel. The workgroup makes recommendations to the AHIC so that healthcare IT can be used to provide the data needed for the development of quality measures that are useful to patients and others in the healthcare industry, automate the measurement of a comprehensive current and future set of quality measures, and accelerate the use of clinical decision support that can improve performance on those quality measures.

Susan Matney, clinical informatics, was elected to serve a two-year term on the IHTSDO Quality Assurance Committee. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is the U.S. member of the newly-formed IHTSDO. Matney was one of three U.S. nominations to the Quality Assurance Committee selected by NLM, in consultation with the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology and the Chairs of the National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics and HITSP. IHTSDO owns, distributes, operates and develops health terminology products, including SNOMED CT.

Joe D'Antonio, senior manager for Soarian HIM product development, was elected vice chairperson of AHIMA’s Foundation of Research and Education (FORE) board. FORE is the 501(c)(3) charitable affiliate of AHIMA, providing the financial and intellectual resources to support innovation and advances in health information management through research, education and public awareness initiatives.

Denise Dunyak, leader of global marketing efforts for Soarian HIM and EDM solutions, was appointed as the chairperson of the AHIMA Program Committee for the 2007 meeting, which will be held in Philadelphia.