SCCT announces winners of Young Investigator Award
The Society of Cardiovascular CT (SCCT) has named Chirapa Puntawangkoon, MD, and Thananya Boonyasirinant, MD, as the winners of the third annual Young Investigator Award.

Boonyasirinant, of the Cleveland Clinic, won for her submission titled, “Comprehensive Multidetector CT Assessment for Noninvasive Coronary Sinus Imaging and MI Correlation in Ischemic versus Non-ischemic Cardiomyopathy: Implications for Cardiac Resynchronization Therapy.”

Puntawangkoon, of the Wake Forest University School of Medicine in Winston-Salem, N.C., was named a winner for her paper titled, “Elliptical Geometry of Left Ventricular Outflow Tract (LVOT) Results in Underestimation of LVOT Area by Echocardiography Compared to Planimetric Measurement by Cardiac CT (CCT).”

Boonyasirinant and Puntawangkoon were two of five finalists who presented their work at the 2009 SCCT scientific meeting in Orlando in July. The Young Investigator Award includes a $2,500 cash price, trophy and an opportunity for priority peer-reviewed publication in the Journal of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography.