CCHIT appoints, reappoints commissioners

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Google icon
The Certification Commission for Healthcare Information Technology (CCHIT) Tuesday named 10 new commissioners and re-nominated three existing commissioners to its 21-member board. The commissioners will serve staggered two-year terms beginning in October. Led by Chairman Mark Leavitt, MD, PhD, the commission oversees the work of CCHIT’s professional staff and voluntary work groups.

The new commissioners are:
  • Richard Atkin, president, Misys Healthcare Systems;
  • Andrea Gelzer, MD, senior VP, clinical public affairs, CIGNA Healthcare;
  • Jeffrey Hillebrand, COO, Evanston Northwestern Healthcare;
  • Christopher Macmanus, senior VP, Information Technology & CIO, Catholic Health Initiatives;
  • Denni McColm, CIO, Citizens Memorial Healthcare;
  • James Morrow, MD, VP and CIO, North Fulton Family Medicine;
  • Jonathan Perlin, MD, PhD, CMO and senior VP for Quality, HCA;
  • Don Rucker, MD, VP and CMO, Siemens Medical Solutions;
  • Michael Ubl, director, IT strategy & eHealth, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota; and
  • Andrew Wiesenthal, MD, associate executive director, clinical information support, The Permanente Federation
Three Commissioners were reappointed to new two-year terms:
  • Jane B. Metzger, research director, Emerging Practices, First Consulting Group;
  • Wes Rishel, research director, Gartner; and
  • Andrew G. Ury, MD, CIO, Practice Partner