Joint Commission modifies CT technologists’ certification guidelines

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Google icon

The Joint Commission is backing away from portions of revised requirements for who is and isn’t qualified to perform diagnostic CT procedures.

In February, the commission’s proposed a new requirement that technologists who perform diagnostic CT must have advanced-level certification by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB) by Jan. 1, 2018.

The updated standards delete this requirement.

“Since the publication of these requirements, the Joint Commission has received significant feedback from rural and critical access hospitals that is focused primarily on the expectation to achieve advanced-level CT certification by January 2018,” the commission wrote. “These customers communicated concerns about their ability to comply with the expectation for advanced-level CT certification and—if this were to be required by 2018—the potential negative impact on patient access to CT services.”

Along with deleting the certification requirement, the commission is also suspending another requirement for “organizations to demonstrate that CT technologists participate in education that prepares them to achieve advanced-level CT certification.”

The remaining part of the update, which goes into effect September 1, establishes other minimum standards for CT technologists. Having advanced-level certification from AART or NMTCB would meet these standards, but one of the following qualifications would also be acceptable:

  • State licensure that permits them to perform diagnostic CT exams and documented training on the provision of diagnostic CT exams.
  • Registration and certification in radiography by ARRT and documented training on the provision of diagnostic CT exams.
  • Certification in nuclear medicine technology by ARRT or NMTCB and documented training on the provision of diagnostic CT exams.