SNM bestows honors on nuclear medicine luminaries
The Reston, Va.-based SNM honored a diverse group of luminary physicians for their contributions to the field of nuclear medicine during the society’s 2007 annual meeting in Washington, D.C., last month.

Dr. Tom Miller, professor of radiology in the division of nuclear medicine at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, received SNM’s Presidential Distinguished Service Award.

Dr. Eva Dubovsky, professor with the UAB Health System in Birmingham, Ala., received the SNM Presidential Distinguished Educator Award.

Dr. Alan Maurer, professor of radiology and medicine and director of nuclear medicine at the School of Medicine at Temple University in Philadelphia was awarded the SNM Academic Council’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Richard Carson, professor of diagnostic radiology and biomedical engineering and co-director of the PET Center at Yale University, New Haven, Conn., received the Kuhl-Lassen Lecture Award for research in brain imaging. This award, presented by SNM’s Brain Imaging Council, annually honors a scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of functional brain imaging using SPECT and PET.

The society’s Cardiovascular Council recognized Dr. Marcelo Di Carli, chief of nuclear medicine and director of noninvasive cardiovascular imaging at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston with the Herrmann Blumgart Award for his pioneering work in cardiovascular radionuclide imaging and services.

Joel Karp, Ph.D., director of the department of radiology PET Center with the University of Pennsylvania Health System, Philadelphia, was named the recipient of the Edward Hoffman Memorial Award. The award, presented by SNM’s Computer and Instrumentation Council, recognizes outstanding scientific contributions to the field of computers and instrumentation in nuclear medicine.

Evelyn Watson, who retired in 1994 as director of Oak Ridge Associated Universities’ Radiation Internal Dose Information Center in Oak Ridge, Tenn., after 35 years of service, was named the recipient of the Loevinger–Berman Award. Presented by SNM’s Medical Internal Radiation Dose Committee, the award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to nuclear medicine in internal dosimetry through research and/or development, significant publication contributions or advancement of the understanding of internal dosimetry in relation to risk and therapeutic efficacy.