Thorwarth named chair of AMA CPT panel
Dr. William Thorwarth Jr., former president of the American College of Radiology (ACR) and former chair of the ACR Economics Commission, was recently appointed chair of the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) editorial panel of the American Medical Association (AMA) by the AMA board of trustees.

Thorwarth is the first radiologist to chair the CPT panel and only the fourth chair of the panel since its formation in 1966. He will begin serving his two-year term as chair at the conclusion of the October 2007 annual panel meeting. He is eligible to be reappointed to an additional two-year term for a maximum tenure of four years as panel chair.

The AMA’s CPT editorial panel is a multispecialty body responsible for maintaining the CPT nomenclature and code set.

The panel, appointed by the AMA’s board of trustees, is comprised of 18 members, including: 11 physicians nominated by the national medical specialty societies; one physician each nominated from the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association, the America's Health Insurance Plans, the American Hospital Association, and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services; two members of the CPT healthcare professionals advisory committee; and one performance measures representative.

Thorwarth has served in several ACR capacities, including president of the ACR executive committee, board nominating committee, and committee on awards and honors. He also serves as chair of the ACR practice expense committee and an ACR reference committee.