AHIMA announces Triumph Award winners
SALT LAKE CITY--The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) announced its annual AHIMA Triumph Awards recipients, which honor the excellence, dedication and service of health information management (HIM) professionals and their accomplishments in the HIM field. The presentations were made during AHIMA’s 83rd Convention and Exhibit on Oct. 3.

The 2011 AHIMA Distinguished Member award recepient is Linda Kloss, MA, RHIA. Kloss has more than 30 years of experience in HIM, in which she spent 15 years of her career as AHIMA’s CEO.

The Champion Advocacy and Public Policy award went to two recepients. AHIMA awarded Linda A. Hyde, RHIA, for her volunteer work and leadership in the the advancement of the HIM professionals. She served twice as president of the Massachusetts Health Information Management Association, in 1991 and 2004.

The second award went to the Minnesota Health Information Management Association (MHMIA) Legislative and Advocacy Team for its work in utlizing information learned during AHIMA’s annual Capitol Hill Day event and resources received from StateNet, a heallth IT advocacy organization. MHIMA engaged its members in two successful advocacy efforts that saved Minnesota healthcare facilities millions of dollars.

The AHIMA Educator Award went to Laurinda Beebe Harman, PhD, RHIA. Harman has been an AHIMA member and educator for more than 40 years. In 2010, she chaired the HIM department at Temple University in Philadelphia and opened a master of health informatics program at the university.

The AHIMA e-HIM Award went to two HIM professionals First, Kimberly Baldwin-Stried Reich, MBA, MJ, RHIA, was awarded the honor for her work in e-discovery, process improvements, data integrity and a commitment to information excellence.

A champion of change, Tracy A. Elmer, RHIA, was also a e-HIM award recipient. She led the Rady Children’s Health Network through its electronic medical record implementation, which encompasses two primary and specialty care medical groups. She also provided leadership for Sharp HealthCare during implementation of their county-wide outpatient medical group electronic health record system.

And, the AHIMA Pioneer Award recipient is William Lee Ford, MHA, RHIT. Ford saw a need to begin ICD-10 education in North Carolina, and served on the North Carolina Health Information and Communications Alliance ICD-10 Task Force to advocate for HIM professionals and their expertise in ICD-10 work. Ford also implemented a system that addresses the quality and safety of healthcare delivery across multiple organizations within North Carolina.