Gilbert appointed as new RTOG brain tumor committee co-chair

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Google icon
Mark R. Gilbert, MD, from the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center has been appointed co-chair of the brain tumor committee for the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG).

Gilbert is the Blanche Bender professor in cancer research in the division of cancer medicine at M. D. Anderson in Houston, where he is also a professor and deputy chair of the department of neuro-oncology.  

The RTOG is a National Cancer Institute-funded international clinical trials group and is administered by the American College of Radiology (ACR) and located in the ACR Center for Clinical Research in Philadelphia.

As the co-chair for neuro-oncology of the RTOG brain tumor committee, Gilbert will work with Minesh Mehta, MD, from the University of Wisconsin, the chair of the RTOG brain tumor committee, as well as with investigators from the group’s scientific core committees to develop and report on protocols designed to improve the outcome and quality of life of brain tumor patients, said the ACR.

Gilbert succeeds Wai-Kwan Alfred Yung, MD, the chairman and professor of neurology, Margaret & Ben Love chair in clinical cancer, department of neuro-oncology, division of cancer medicine at M. D. Anderson.