Johns Hopkins Hopsital’s chief radiologist Lewin elected ARRS prez

The American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) has a new president. Jonathan S. Lewin, MD, senior vice president for integrated health care delivery and co-chair for strategic planning at Johns Hopkins Medicine was elected to the position at the ARRS 2015 Annual Meeting held last month in Toronto.

Lewin is also the Martin Donner Professor and Chairman of the Russell H. Morgan Department of Radiology and Radiological Science at Johns Hopkins University and Radiologist-in-Chief at The Johns Hopkins Hospital, with secondary appointments as professor of oncology, neurosurgery and biomedical engineering.

During his acceptance speech, Lewin said radiologists should prepare for changes in healthcare delivery as value-based models take hold, but that radiologists should see this transition “as the sun rising on a new and even more exciting era in which we can have an even greater positive effect impact on our patients.”

Lewin succeeds Melissa Rosado de Christenson, MD, who was elected ARRS president in 2014.