ARRS names Ruth Carlos its new president

Ruth Carlos, MD, has been named the 119th president of the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) during the organization’s 2019 annual meeting in Honolulu.

Carlos, a practicing radiologist and former assistant chair of research at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, succeeds Philip Costello, MD, who held the position from 2018 to 2019, according to an ARRS release.

Author of 131 peer-reviewed publications, Carlos has served as a reviewer for 10 scientific journals, and was recently named the new editor-in-chief of the Journal of the American College of Radiology (JACR). She was previously the deputy editor of JACR and helped create the journal’s podcast, the Radiology Firing Line.

“I love this organization so much. Our society is strong. Registration for this meeting is on track for another record year, and virtual participation continues to grow,” said Carlos in an email to HealthImaging.

During the annual meeting, the ARRS also awarded Jonathan S. Lewin, MD, the ARRS Gold Medal for 2019. The medal recognizes Lewin’s distinguished service to radiology and is the organization’s highest honor.

Lewin is the executive vice president for health affairs at Emory University in Atlanta and president and CEO of Emory Healthcare and chair of the Board of Directors of Emory Healthcare.

Additionally, Christine “Cooky” O. Menias, MD was named the 2019 ARRS Distinguished Educator. The award “recognizes outstanding educators who are dedicated to radiology education and celebrates inspirational people committed to providing education that results in improved participants’ competence and performance and ultimately leads to improved patient outcomes,” according to an ARRS release.