SNMMI introduces new leadership at annual meeting

The Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI) introduced a host of new officers, including its new president Vasken Dilsizian, MD, during its annual meeting in Anaheim, Calif.

Dilsizian is a professor of radiology and medicine at the University of Maryland School of Medicine and chief of the Division of Nuclear Medicine at the University of Maryland Medical Center in Baltimore. He will serve the 2019-2020 term as president of SNMMI.

“This is an exciting time for the field of nuclear medicine,” Dilsizian said in a prepared statement. “Within a short period of time, we have witnessed the approval of several new diagnostic and therapeutic agents by the FDA, which was a tall order. More innovations are in development and clinical trials, with potentially huge impact for patients. SNMMI is ready to meet the challenge of guiding them to approval and appropriate reimbursement.”

Additionally, SNMMI elected Alan B. Packard, PhD, as president-elect during its annual meeting. Packard is an associate professor of radiology at Harvard Medical School and director of radiopharmaceutical research at Boston Children’s Hospital.

SNMMI introduced three other newly-elected officials during the meeting:

  • Richard L. Wahl, MD, was elected as vice-president elect. Wahl is the Elizabeth E. Mallinckrodt Professor and head of radiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, and director of the university’s Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology.
  • Mark H. Crosthwaite, MEd, CNMT, was elected president of the SNMMI Technologist Section (SNMMI-TS). Crosthwaite is associate professor and program director of the baccalaureate nuclear medicine technology program, Department of Radiation Sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, Va.
  • Tina M. Buehner, MS, has been named president-elect of Technologist Section. Buehner is a health physicist specialist at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago.