ASRT and Elekta award $20K in scholarships to rad therapy students
The American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Education and Research Foundation and Elekta have named the recipients of the 2012 Elekta Radiation Therapy Scholarship.

Four $5,000 scholarships were awarded to entry-level radiation therapy students, made possible by a $23,000 funding contribution from Stockholm-based Elekta.

This year’s scholarship recipients are:

  • Lee Culp of Buffalo, N.Y., enrolled in an associate degree program at Erie Community College – City Campus.
  • David Dosanjh of Livermore, Calif., enrolled in an associate degree program at City College of San Francisco.
  • Njeri Kaittany-Gaines of Houston enrolled in a bachelor's degree program at the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center.
  • Valerie Nix of Las Vegas enrolled in an associate degree program at the College of Southern Nevada.

Scholarship recipients were selected based on evidence of commitment, leadership, achievement and financial need.

Elekta has provided $140,000 in scholarships since 2006.