Six providers seek ACO accreditation through NCQA
Six healthcare networks aspiring to become accountable care organizations (ACO) are the first to seek accreditation through a program launched by the National Committee for Quality Assurance, a Washington, D.C-based healthcare nonprofit organization.

The six healthcare networks are:
  • Billings Clinic, Billings, Mont.;
  • Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia;
  • Crystal Run Healthcare, Middletown, N.Y.;
  • Essentia Health, Duluth, Minn.;
  • HealthPartners, Minneapolis; and
  • Kelsey-Seybold Clinic, Houston.

Considered “early adopters” by the NCQA, according to a Jan. 12 statement, each of the six healthcare networks will have their ACO capabilities surveyed by the NCQA through its ACO accreditation program.

The NCQA’s ACO accreditation program grants three levels of accreditation to signify different levels of readiness and bases assessments on a healthcare network’s ability to demonstrate ACO capabilities.